ABSA Top 10 Pinotage 2011

The results of the annual ABSA Top 10 Pinotage competition have been announced in Stellenbosch. Although Pinotage is planted outside of South Africa it remains the red grape most often associated with the country where it was created.

The ABSA Top 10 is one of the most highly regarded wine competitions in South Africa, thanks to it’s simple formula and a track record built up over many years. The sponsorship from banking giant ABSA has assisted in keeping Pinotage popular at home.

The competition does not decide on a winner but simply a top 10, which allows for a range of wine styles to be recognised. Of course as with any competition there will always be some that don’t agree with the results, but that is inevitable. On the commercial side, an ABSA Top 10 award can have a very positive impact on sales in South Africa.

And of course the winners get a little hand-blown glass trophy too!

The 2011 ABSA Top 10 Pinotage winners are:

  • Beyerskloof Reserve 2008
  • Diemersdal Reserve 2010
  • Fairview Primo 2009
  • Kanonkop 2006
  • KWV The Mentor’s 2009
  • Laibach 2010
  • Naledi 2009
  • Rijk’s Private Cellar 2007
  • Schalk Burger & Sons Meerkat 2009
  • Windmeul Reserve 2010

Comments are closed.